General Assembly

The organizational structure of the Nordic Centre in India consists of: The General Assembly with representatives from all the Nordic member universities, which handles all matters of principle and of strategic importance for the NCI. The General Assembly meets at least once a year at a location and time decided by the Board. 

Each NCI member has to nominate a person who represents the university at the General Assembly (GA) of the NCI. The GA meets annually, with representatives from all the Nordic member universities, which handles all matters of principle and of strategic importance for the NCI.



The Director who is appointed for a fixed period of time and is responsible for the daily activities of the NCI. The Director reports directly to the Board.



NCI is functioning in accordance with the established bye-laws


NCI Board

The NCI has a board with one elected Chairperson and five members and their deputies from each Nordic country. The Board ensures that the NCI is operated in accordance with its aims and regulation. The board is elected every two years and each member can nominate a candidate. The board meets regularly during the year and oversees and directs the activities and strategies of the NCI.




Per Nilsson, Umeå University,Senior Advisor International Affairs,
Administration Building, level 3, International Office 90187 Umeå SE


Vice Chairman

Dr. Uwe Skoda, Aarhus University
Address: Department of Culture and Society, Section for Asian Studies, Aarhus University, Jens Chr. Skous Vej 7, 8000 Aarhus C, Denmark

Deputy member:

Dr. Peter B. Andersen, University of Copenhagen
Address: Department of Cross-Cultural and Regional Studies, University of Copenhagen, Leifsgade 33 2300 Copenhagen S, Denmark


Dean, Prof. Markku Filppula, University of Eastern Finland
Address: University of Eastern Finland, Philosophical Faculty, P.O. Box 111, 80101 Joensuu

Deputy member:

Dr. Sirpa Tenhunen,Professor, Senior Lecturer , University of Jyväskylä
Address: The Department of History and Ethnology,Room No. H232,University of Jyväskylä


Dr. Geir Sigurdsson, University of Iceland
Address: School of Humanities, University of Iceland, 101 Reykjavik, Iceland

Deputy member:

Prof. Snorri Sigurdsson, University of Iceland
Address:School of Engineering and Natural Sciences,University of Iceland, 107 Reykjavik, Iceland


Dr. Anne Waldrop, Associate Professor, Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences
Address: Department of International Studies and Interpreting, Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences, Falbes gate 5, Oslo, FG333 Oslo, Norway

Deputy member:

Dr. Alf Gunvald Nilsen, University of Bergen
Address: Department of Sociology, University of Bergen, Postboks 7800, 5020 Bergen, Norway


Dr. Kristina Myrvold, Linnaeus University
Address:Department of Cultural Sciences,Hus F H312, Linnaeus University, Sweden

Deputy member:

Andreas Johansson, Linnaeus University
Address: Department of Cultural Sciences, Building Hus F H315, Linnaeus University, Sweden

External Nordic Observer

Nordic Institute of Asian Studies (NIAS)
Dr. Geir Helgesen, Director of NIAS
Address: NIAS, University of Copenhagen, City Campus, Øster Farimagsgade 5, 1353, Copenhagen, Denmark

Senior Advisor

Professor emeritus Neelambar Hatti
Department of Economic History
Address: Lund University Box 7083
SE-220 07 Lund. Sweden
Tel: 0046 46 2227488/0046 701 480001